Detour rant

I haven’t done much with my owncloud in quite a while. It was merely an experiment.and I eventually switched my file syncing to (then) BitTorrent Sync, now Resilio Sync. It’s the same program yet they created a new company to better market the shit outa that sucker. Which is fine with me, the program is free and you get nice perks for an one-time payment of 39.99$ If you are looking for a great, private and easy Cloud-Storage solution go check it out at https://www.resilio.com/

Since quite some time I use Kodi now, back then it was xbmc but eventualy evolved into Kodi. With the release of Windows 10 Microsoft decided to do an App-Store kinda thing on their own and called it Windows Store? Something like that. Anyhow, Kodi 17 Crypton was in Beta and it was only available through that win store thingy, which kinda sucked since I run my Kodi on a Win7 system. By now you can just download whatever way you want, but about half a year ago it looked like Kodi was only going to be available with win10. Thinking about it now it didn’t even make sense to me back then. But since I wanted to give Kodi 17 a try, I thought to myself why not setting up a linux system on one of my spare harddrives and install all that nice stuff there instead of relying on windows and its walled garden. Welp, it didn’t turn out to well to be honest.

I decided I want to go easy on the installation and choose an ubuntu system. I had good experience with xubuntu on another pc I setup for my family, so I gave it a go. I copied the img onto a bootable usb-drive, unplugged the windows hdd and booted up. It turned out the xubuntu usb-install didn’t like my IDE-HDD for reasons unknown. It just wouldn’t go through with the installation. So I copied an img of Lubuntu on the usb-drive. Same Kernel different desktop-enviroment. No trouble at all with the installation. Weird huh?!

Having the system running, I installed Kodi and whatever else I thought I needed. You know, I have 2 monitors connected to that machine. One is an old laptop LCD with a controller board attached, which I use for maintenance on that machine. The other monitor is a projector hooked up on a surround system via hdmi. Under windows that’s quite a handy solution. Whenever you need, you just fire up the projector and watch a movie. Plug n Play makes this possible and easy. Welp, apparently Plug n Play is still an issue under ubuntu in 2016! FOR FUCK SAKE! ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME!!!

It turned out that 2 monitors are no problem for the lubuntu system, but once I turned the projector off, the resolution on the other monitor got borked and I wouldn’t be able to get the projector back to work on the system even when turning it on. I went through quite a bit of try and error. I was able to start a terminal which was not visible on my second monitor so I had to type blind.

xrandr –output HDMI-0 –auto –left-of DVI-I-2

After that the projector and the 2nd monitor would work normal again, but only for so long as I would not turn one of the monitors off. I didn’t dive too deep into the issue since I couldn’t find much information on the interwebs concerning this issue. not many people apparently run a setup like this and then get the same error.

So the whole thing was a dealbreaker. I gave up on the idea of having a ubuntu system with 2 monitors handling my Kodi-needs. But it kinda set me into rant mood about linux and it’s aim to get consumer relevant. When googling most of the information I find is outdated. Usually 2 to 3 yrs old. Usually alot of people don’t have a clue what they are doing, me neither, but aren’t there people out there working on this stuff?! Then there is the problem with usability. I mean Windows can handle this stuff since ages why can’t Linux?! If you really want to reach people, make it work and make it work the easy way. Not everybody wants to tinker with a system before it works and does simple jobs. I mean PLUG AND FUCKIN’ PLAY!!!??

Anyhow, now I am working on something different. Kinda like a future project, future in the sense that I am preparing for the future of my own house with a different media setup. But more on that in another upcoming post.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

