it starts here,… at least i hope

Short disclaimer at the beginning: I already have some stuff running on my laptop, had the idea with blog while I read through all those documetations, so now for the first few posts I gonna try to recreate what I already have done to the poor machine.

So I got this old laptop from my wife flying around here. It’s an Acer Aspire 1350LM. The only datasheet I found is from this german site.

I had DamnSmallLinux (DSL) running on it a while ago cause I used the laptop as a musicbox in a basement. It did the job but was rather clunky and stiff. At least it was small which was the main concern. So now, what distro to choose? Would ubuntu run on it? Feeding google with “learning linux”, “linux distros” and the such I quickly had a brief idea of which way to go. Lubuntu, Xubuntu, Kubuntu had quite some nice reviews specially suitable for older machines. So I gave it a shot and downloaded Xubuntu 13.10. I followed this guide to make a bootable USB-stick with my mac, I should note that the steps of the tutorial to convert the downloaded .iso file into an .img file are not necessary. You can make a bootable USB with an .iso file!

Gladly the laptop already supports USB-booting but sadly the xubuntu 13.10 build kept crashing. The shell worked but as soon as I wanted to start X it stopped and hang. Alot has changed the last decade. Graphics are now done in the kernel, xorg.conf is not really needed any more. So that was new. There are some drivers out there for the freaky chipset (Via KN4000) this laptop uses as graphicscard but downloading the LTS 12.04 version of xubuntu in this case did the job.

So, onwards to the installation  Xubuntu 12.04!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

